Am I a witch?

What makes a person a witch?

My answer might surprise you- and I am certain that there are members of the magickal community who would disagree- but it’s simple, if you ask me.

JE

A person is a witch if it makes them happy to be called one or think of themselves as one.
Seriously- that’s pretty much it.

Like, I know that you’re supposed to live magickally and do witchy things to be “considered a witch by your peers,” but the truth is, I consider witchiness to be kinda like a muscle everyone has, but only some choose to develop. So me shitting on how witchy you are or aren’t, is like me being one of those Bible-thumping Christian extremists who say the Bible says x and therefore you must y…I hate those people btw- so you’re not going to see me doing that to people in the magic(k)al communities.
*Yes, I separated them- I see it like this:
Your mom who loves lavender candles and essential oils by Gladeย is being magical- she likes how lavender smells and likes the idea of something being natural. She isn’t buying the candle for third eye meditations, or to access creativity- she likes lavender, and it probably calms or soothes her in some way- like it tends to do for most people- but mom isn’t performing magick when she lights a candle and gets into a bath…not quite anyway. I guess you could call it accidental magic. The people at Glade probably aren’t magickal alchemists- but lavender has certain undeniable qualities. People respond to it. Not because lavender isn’t magickal, it totally is, but the intention, the preparation, the mindset of using it for magick is not there. This is more like, “That shit works like magic.”ย That’s the muggle stuff.
That’s magic with a C.

On the other hand- the witch who’s preparing herbs (possibly that they grew themselves) and “potions” like body oil or soaps and teas that are made for sale and use by other people, (muggle or magickal) is making magick- and more often than not, the people buying and using them are of the same ilk. A Good Witch of the East (she’s in Ohio) that makes adorable soaps and stuffs that are all natural and deliciously witchy is Lori Gallagher of Spooky Grrrl Bath & Body. 10/10 would recommend! She makes cute soaps that also make great gifts to mugglesย ๐Ÿ˜‰
That’s real magick, with a K.

My advice is to go to handmade sites like Etsy and scope out people’s shit and see if someone seems legit to you. It may take some digging, but after awhile, the imposters are not hard to spot. Magickal people are recognizable, once you know what you’re looking for. People who have done some real digging, people who are deeper in the occult studies, more in the know- they are magickal without trying anymore. Their lives are infused with and reinforced by magick. “real” magick is all about the intention.
Once you learn enough, you can start to add magick to your daily life. You can do this in SOOOOO many ways- wearing crystals, burning special incense, wearing power colors or patterns on clothing…you get it. My husband, Evan, has alchemy symbols tattooed on his head (that he keeps shaved)

DRE_8393

It’s rare that someone sees it AND knows what it is and also, actually talks to us. The few occasions when we have gotten to talk with people who knew, were lovely. I wish more people would reach out to one another in this community of shadows. I understand why they don’t, but it doesn’t keep me from wishing otherwise- or from wearing a pentagram, just like Evan’s, so my fellow brother and sister witches know we’re their peopleย ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ”ฎ

 


So, anyone can be a witch?
Does that make my mom a witch?
What do you mean?

Ok, slow down- yes and no. What I mean is, if you are magickally inclined- you just are. If you feel comfortable with the “title” or “label” of witch- it’s unlikely someone is gonna burn you at the stake today- so go ahead and claim it. I wish more people would. I feel like the magick that is here on earth deserves a chance to get out- it’s only waiting for people to embrace it.
Maybe your mom is a witch, maybe all moms are. They talk about “women’s intuition”- which I kinda hate- but it’s accurate- because women do not own intuition, but statistically, we’re more inclined to magickal things- and often, we trust our “gut” when it comes to people or places. Men do it too, but more people seem to have stories that consist in part of – “I had no fucking idea how my mom knew we were there, but she did” or, a mother that will tell you how she “Just had a feeling something was wrong with one of my babies“- and it was. ย This goes back to what I said about it being a muscle- maybe your mom isn’t interested in flexing her witchiness- and that’s ok.
She’s still magicย ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ”ฎ

So what I’m saying is, if you are a witch, you already know it- if you want to be a witch, start learning- and you better love reading and things that require real effort and focused determination, because if you want to be a magickal powerhouse, the key is knowledge. Knowledge is the power.
Start reading ย ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š
Then start living magickallyย ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ
Abracadabra: You’re a witchย ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ“š

6J3A0156-Edit

Leave a Reply

